I Can Lift You Up…

6 Feb

First Off….if you are reading this my site has moved here http://myuniversallanguage.com/

Like I promised, here’s what happens when you send me dope music. I post it. So if you make dope music (according to me) then send it to me. If I like it, it’ll find its way onto my blog. Simple as that. Send it here krees10@gmail.com

So usually what I do when someone sends me music, and believe it or not I get a bunch, I give it the 10 second treatment. That’s where I start the track, wait 10 seconds, if it catches my ear, I continue to listen and judge it from there. If it doesn’t I skip to the middle and give it 5 more. If it hasn’t caught my ear at that point, I move on. Harsh? Maybe. But sometimes I have a hard enough time getting a post up in the first place, let alone listen to a bunch of 4 minute tracks. I think its fair to say that 15 seconds of play can give you a pretty good idea if somethings good. Maybe I miss a few good songs here and there, but I’m confident I have a good enough ear to tell whether something is good or not fairly quickly. Let me rephrase that, something I like enough to post on my blog. A lot of the stuff I won’t post is still pretty good, I just can’t get everything up. You understand 🙂

So to start this off right, I thought I’d hit you with something dope. The band, “Capital Cities”. 10 seconds was plenty of time for these guys. Heck, give them 2 and your hooked. I take that back, following the small drum solo (about 1 second) this track blows up. Way up. This beat is the shizz and a perfect mix in of the horns just rocks my world. Now comes the hard part, actually getting someone who can sing  and not ruin all the obvious hard work and skill that went into making this dope beat. Well that’s no problem here either. A nice mixture of great music with great vocals. So if you dig bands like “Empire of the Sun”, “The Limousines”, “Two Door Cinema Club”, and “Dan Black”,  then you’re gonna dig this band too. What do all those bands have in common? They’ve recently blown up and they’ve produced some of my favorite albums over the past 2 years. Soooo, it’s going to be fun to see what’s on the horizon for these guys. I predict big things. Check it.

PS. If you happen to live in my area…Los Angeles…they’re gonna be playing a show at the Troubadour (sweet!) March 19th. I’m gonna try my best to make it out. So maybe you’ll see me bobbin’ my head somewheres.

PSS. I highly recommend you hit up their site here… http://capitalcitiesmusic.com …and grab this track for free.

LISTEN!

“Safe and Sound”

http://k002.kiwi6.com/hotlink/pjt0nl0m15

Links:

http://facebook.com/capitalcities

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/beginnings/id398949429

2 Responses to “I Can Lift You Up…”

  1. the new lofi June 6, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    great early find on this track kris. we just heard capital cities a few weeks ago and thought the same thing. they’re definitely going to blow up. also, we like your write up on the selection process. very accurate. anyhow cheers and good luck with the site. the new lofi

  2. Jeff June 10, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Thanks for posting, great track! Very uplifting

Leave a Reply

