Top Albums of 2K10 – #3

28 Jan

First Off….if you are reading this my site has moved here http://myuniversallanguage.com/

3.

Freelance Whales – Weathervanes

Oh what to say, what to say about this fantastic speciman of an album. Such a surprising find for me. I believe I found this band on a muscians blog, but it wasn’t a music blog, if you know what I mean. I was hooked from the start. This album probably contains my fav song of the year with, “Generator 1st ^ Floor”, the apitamy of a beautiful song. They just don’t make them better. I don’t think I’ve ever been sooooo longing for a song to continue when it ends. The first time I heard it I was like, “WTF it’s over?” I guess that’s my qualm with it, it’s too short. I dream of a second, third, fourth, or heck even ninth verse….unfortunately I get one. Here’s to hoping they do some sort of extended version on the next album. Then again if you watch the live version below, yes I posted one of my favorite live performances of all time, you shall see, you’ll notice a second verse. But where is the studio version of this? I can’t find it. This upsets me.

Now after hearing that first track you may be expecting this hipsterish chill deep album, but on multiple songs they switch it up with a lot of not so deep stuff. It’s sort of a relief. I’m not sure you’d expect them to throw out a line about “lemon now-or-laters” in the next track, but they do. So they sort of seemlessly integrate deepness with fun lyrics, which I believe adds to the overall appeal of the album. I guess. I’m all for a chill and deep album, but the ability to get the best of both worlds from one is something that makes this album so great. Part of me thinks this entire paragraph made no sense, whatev.

I remember going to see what sort of review this album got on Absolutepunk.com just cause they tend to be fair in most of their reviews. Plus the member ratings tend to be somewhat accurate…somewhat. All I know is I distinctly remember reading some horrible review where this album got like 70 or below out of 100. I wanted to slap whoever reviewed it. Idiot. That being said, I just went back to get some ammo to bash that person here and the review has now got an 89/100. Idk what happened lol, guess someone either smartened up or a better review got put up. Either way, I think the score of 96/100 member rating speaks for itself. It’s great. So yeah. Check it.

PS. Went with both “Generator” songs here, but I really recommend checking out the track “Ghosting” as well (along with the entire album, but if you had to choose only one go with that one), FANTASTIC!

LISTEN!

“Generator ^ 1st Floor”

http://k002.kiwi6.com/hotlink/l6f5aumys8

“Generator ^ 2nd Floor”

http://k002.kiwi6.com/hotlink/93o515jtz0

 

WATCH!

 

Links:

http://www.myspace.com/freelancewhales

http://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/freelance-whales/id328783385

2 Responses to “Top Albums of 2K10 – #3”

  1. Chris with a 'C' January 31, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    technically, this album dropped in ’09… jus sayin
    😉 great album tho, heard the whales on XM radio awhile back and listened to a few of their other songs. btw, thanks again for the xm gift card 😀

    • Kris January 31, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      That may be what is on iTunes, but it was released in March 2010 actually 🙂 No prob.

Leave a Reply

