I’m A F’n Redneck…

21 Sep

First Off….if you are reading this my site has moved here http://myuniversallanguage.com/

I’ve only got about half way through this album and that’s probably cause I continue to repeat this song. I’ve been waiting for something new from Ben Folds for a while now and finally he’s delivered. I haven’t listened enough to actually decide whether it’s up to Ben Folds standards or not, but I’ve listened enough to know I like this song. The new album is entitled “Lonely Avenue” and is a collab with a guy named Nick Hornby. A furthur look into it and apparently Ben Folds takes the words of author Nick Hornby and puts them to a bit of music. Well sounds like an odd idea, but well done as far as I’ve heard so far.

Now the real reason this song has probably caught my attention is the title and its lyrical content. I’ll just go ahead and start you out with the title, “Levi Johnston’s Blues“. Now some of you are going to have no idea what that title is about, to others the name will sound familiar, and the select few (I assume) will know exactly who the song’s about. Well I was one of those select few and right off the bat I thought, “This song is going to be stupid and political”. For those of you who aren’t aware, Levi Johnston is the father (and ex boyfriend) of former VP cadidate Sarah Palin’s daughter Bristol Palin. Well to my surprise the song stayed completely away from politics, like I like it, and just was kinda a honest look at what it was probably like being Levi Johnston during the past presidential election. I applaud this. I hate political music. Now the songs subject insn’t going to interest many, myself included, but the song is so freakin’ catchy it’s ridiculous. The chorus has been stuck in my head ever since I first heard it. If the song was about anything else, I’d say it would be a hit (radio hit), but I’m not sure people will get it, let alone really want to hear about its subject matter. But like I’ve said before, if it’s good, it’s good, and this is good. I won’t be surprised if it does make it onto the radio somehow though, it’s kinda too catchy not to. Check it.

LISTEN!

“Levi Johnston’s Blues”
http://kiwi6.com/uploads/hotlink?id=iohh78y62m

Links:

http://www.myspace.com/benfolds

http://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/ben-folds/id463277

Leave a Reply

