That Drum Machine Ain’t Got No Soul…

20 Sep

First Off….if you are reading this my site has moved here http://myuniversallanguage.com/

This is probably gonna be the hardest choice of song to share from a band that I’ve had yet. I’ve been listening to their stuff since their last EP came out. When I say their stuff, basically I just mean one song. Honestly, the rest of that EP was very dissapointing to me. Unlike the one song that made me such a fan, the rest of the EP is just…blahh at best.  Well I’ve kept that one song on constant rotation and prayed they’d stick to that sound on their full length. Well I’d be understating it if I said they met my hopes and dreams. Actually, it’s more like blown out of the water. I’d go so far as to say this may be the most complete album I’ve heard all year. That’s why it’s such a hard choice to pick just one song. And so I won’t (as usual).

I’ll start you off with a song off the EP (also on the full length) that kept me a fan regardless of how much I disliked the rest of their stuff, “Very Busy People“. Some of lyrics may seem to come out of left field, but once they’re pieced all together to make up the entirety of the song, they seem to make sense (for the most part). There will definetely be a time or two when you’ll say to yourself, “did he just say that“?I don’t know, just listen.

Now it’s a hard choice like I said, but I’ll give you what is probably my favorite song off the full length (if I’m forced to choose one) and that would be, “Internet Killed The Video Star“. Maybe it’s just cause its a play off of the song “Video Killed The Radio Star” or maybe it’s just cause it’s true. It’s about time someone took it to the next level and sang a song about it.

So do yourself a HUGE favor and go pick up this album. I’m not sure where it will end up on my top albums of the year, but if it’s not at the least in my top 5 I’d be VERY surprised. Check it.

LISTEN!
“Very Busy People”
http://kiwi6.com/uploads/hotlink?id=r1ne49e5h2

“Internet Killed The Video Star”
http://kiwi6.com/uploads/hotlink?id=x35i36y69q

Links:

http://www.myspace.com/thelimousines

http://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/the-limousines/id312851038

Leave a Reply

