I Don’t Want To Know…

30 Aug

 

 

I’ll be honest and say I listen to a limited amount of female artists. I’m not sure of the exact reason (no I’m not sexist), maybe I’m just really picky when it comes to it. So if I listen to a female artist it probably means I really really like their music and therefore it must be really really good. Well here is a great example. Lights. Amazing vocals, amazing music, great lyrics, just plain awesome. She just dropped a new acoustic EP that is top notch. A few redone songs acoustic style, a cover, and a new song. All great.

If I’m remembering right, I found her music through listening to Deas Vail (you’ll be hearing more about them soon). Sometimes I’ll go to a band I likes Myspace (yes it still exists and actually its quite useful for music, but that’s prob all) and then I’ll just rummage through their top friends list and see whats crackin’. Lots of bands will put some similar artists, or artists their touring with (aka similar). Not to mention, most good artists usually tend to listen to other good artists so I’ve found. So try it out. Go hit up ur favorite bands Myspace and check out their top friends. You might find your next favorite band?!?! Huh, huh? Worth a try.

So now for the songs. Yep, I’m posting 3 songs. 2 are the same. 1 is the cover. The first two are the same song, Saviour, one being the acoustic version from her new acoustic EP and the other from her full length album, The Listening. Both great songs, but I think its good to take a listen to both, just cause they kind of take the song in two different directions, sorta. I think I’m falling in love with the acoustic version a bit more lately, but then again I’m a sucker for a good acoustic diddy. The third song is the cover (future notice: if a band or artists song I’m covering also has an awesome cover I’ll probably include it). In this case, she covers a very unlikely band and does it amazingly. This is a cover of Rancid’s song Fall Back Down. Can’t say I’m a fan of the original, but her version is beautiful, regardless if it seems she’s singing from the wrong point of view (you’ll see what I mean).  I’ve included a link to the original so you can see her brilliance. As for the rest of Light’s music, I’d highly recommend you listen to it all. I won’t include it here, but the song Face Up off The Listening may actually be my favorite song by her. Usually that would mean I’d post it here, but in this case I chose Saviour because it’s the song that made me fall in love with her music originally, including my new appreciation and love for it now with the new acoustic version. So when you’re done falling in love with the music below, go check out Face Up and fall in love all over again. For that matter, go check out all her stuff. Check it.

LISTEN!

“Savior”
http://kiwi6.com/uploads/hotlink?id=6hjcepesp7
“Savior (acoustic)”
http://kiwi6.com/uploads/hotlink?id=hgv4864sf8
“Fall Back Down”
http://kiwi6.com/uploads/hotlink?id=0x9ylvag7j

Original – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-BWBrcF7sWQ

Links:

http://www.myspace.com/lights

http://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/lights/id275263062

Leave a Reply

